Future HAWKS!

Join us for a Tour of Southwest High School and Welcome from Principal Gillotti

Academics

What's Great about Lincoln Southwest?

Lincoln Southwest opened in 2002 and is the only high school in LPS with the 4×4 block schedule. This unique schedule gives students more time for reflection and less information to process on a daily basis. With only 4 classes per day, research has shown that students seem to retain information longer in the block schedules. Cooperative learning also has a unique advantage in the block as there are more hands-on group activities. Another big attraction to the block scheduling is you can earn 80 credits per year as opposed to 70 credits at the other Lincoln high schools.

Participate in the Student Council

Meet Our Amazing Counselors!

Our counselors are ready to help you and and answer any questions you might have. Each counselor serves a segment of our student community based on the student’s last name.

Last Name A–Cl
Brooke Sharpe
bsharpe@lps.org

Last Name Cm–Ge
Kali Almond
kalmond@lps.org

Last Name Gf–Kr
Amand Tomes
atomes@lps.org

Last Name Ks–Ol
Lindsey Augustine
laugusti@lps.org

Last Name Om–Sl
Anders Peterson
apeter11@lps.org

Last Name Sm–Z
Tim Ernst
ternst2@lps.org

More from our Counselors

2019 Statistics about Southwest

AP Exams

0
80% scored a 3, 4, or 5

Scholars

0
National Merit Scholars since opening

Courses

0
Diff / AP / Dual-Credit Courses

Masters

0 %
of Staff have a Masters Degree

PhD

0
staff have PhDs

Each year our ACT score average is consistently higher than both the Nebraska and National averages

Don't Take OUR Word for it! Hear from our students...

Academic Department Chairs

Utilize this page to access a comprehensive list of contact information for all LSW academic department chairs.

Art

Chad Petska
cpetska@lps.org
More Information

Business

BJ james
bjjames@lps.org
Business Classes
Technology Classes

English

Angela Kramer
akramer@lps.org
More Information

Family & Consumer Sciences

Tracy Way
tway@lps.org
FACS Classes
More Information

Skilled & Technical Sciences

Jeff Jochum
jjochum1@lps.org
More Information

Math

Sarah Schofield
sscofie@lps.org
More Information

Music

Denise Cotton
dcotton@lps.org
More Information

Physical Education

Mark Watt
mwatt@lps.org

Science

Charlie Bittle
cbittle@lps.org

Social Studies

Alex Bahe
abahe@lps.org

Special Education

Lynn Strack
lstrack@lps.org
More Information

World Language

Aaron Finley
afinley@lps.org

Athletics and Activities

Greeting from the Lincoln Southwest Athletic and Activities Department! We are excited that you are interested in learning more about Southwest and what we have to offer our students through an extracurricular experience. Lincoln Southwest has a rich history of excellence and successes that our coaches and sponsors have worked very hard to establish. We pride ourselves on developing the whole student utilizing the life-lessons that can be learned through participation in extracurricular activities.

Through intentional efforts to establish a culture of excellence, Lincoln Southwest has been fortunate to have won the NSAA Cup the past three years in a row, which recognizes the top Athletic and Activities school in Class A. Additionally, Southwest has won 27 State Championships and 27 State Runner-ups since opening in 2002.

We welcome the opportunity to have you join the Lincoln Southwest Silver Hawks! If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the Activities Office and we’d be happy to help in any way we can.

GO HAWKS!

Important Links

LSW Athletics and Activities Website
Utilize this website to access a wide variety of information regarding LSW Athletics and Activities including consent forms, calendars, and links to individual sports and activities at LSW.

Interest Form

Fill out the form at this link to indicate what athletics and activities you are interested in participating in at LSW. Contact information provided in this form will be shared with coaches and sponsors so that they can keep you informed of what you can do to get involved in their respective sports and activities.

LSW Athletics and Activities Coaches and Sponsors Contact Information and Links

Utilize this page to access a comprehensive list of contact information for all LSW coaches and sponsors for all LSW athletics and activities. Links to websites and/or handouts for individual athletics and activities are also included.

Future Hawk Night FAQ
This document contains answers to frequently asked questions regarding LSW Athletics.

Hear More about Activities and Athletics at Southwest

Balancing Academics and Activities

Grady Works

The LSW Athletics and Activities Experience

Kate Dilsaver

Special Programs at Southwest High School

Gifted

For more information
Dr. Travis Brady (tbrady@lps.org)
Gifted Coordinator

Special Education

For more information
Christy Champoux (cchamp@lps.org)
Special Education Coordinator

Questions about Special Education?
Please use this form to send them and we’ll contact you to discuss.

Learn about a few of our Clubs!

Tell us what you are interested in! What can we tell you more about?